THE REDBRICK UNIVERSITIES



- The Redbrick Universities of the UK were originally a group of institutions that that were founded in major British industrial cities during the 19th century.
- □ Today, 5 of the original 6
 Redbrick Universities are rated among the top 100 universities in the world, according to the QS World University Rankings.





THE UNIVERSITY OF LIVERPOOL

- ☐ Founded as a college in 1881, it gained its Royal Charter; In 1884, it became part of the federal Victoria University, and in 1903 with the ability to award degrees and is also known to be one of the six original 'red brick' civic universities.
- Motto: These days of peace foster learning



UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM

- It is a public research university located in Edgbaston,
 Birmingham, United Kingdom. It received its royal charter in 1900 as a successor to Queen's College,
 Birmingham and Mason Science College
- Motto: Through efforts to heights





THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER

- It is a public research university in Manchester, England, formed in 2004 by the merger of the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology(1956) and the Victoria University of Manchester(1904). The University of Manchester is a red brick university, a product of the civic university movement of the late 19th century.
- Motto: Knowledge, Wisdom, Humanity





THE UNIVERSITY OF LEEDS

- It is a public research university in Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. It was established in 1874 as the Yorkshire College of Science. In 1884 it merged with the Leeds School of Medicine and was renamed Yorkshire College. In 1904 a royal charter was granted to the University of Leeds by King Edward VII.
- Motto: And knowledge will be increased





UNIVERSITY OF BRISTOL

- It is a red brick research university in Bristol, England. It received its royal charter in 1909, although it can trace its roots to a Merchant Venturers' school founded in 1595 and University College, Bristol, which had been in existence since 1876.
- Motto: Learning promotes one's innate power





THE UNIVERSITY OF SHEFFIELD

- It is a public research university in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England. University College of Sheffield was subsequently formed by the amalgamation of the three institutions in 1897 and was granted a royal charter as University of Sheffield in 1905 by King Edward VII.
- Motto: To discover the causes of things



