# The political system of Great Britain

Great Britain is a parliamentary monarchy. There is a Queen and the Parliament. The Queen has almost no power in the country. Her power is limited by the Parliament. Laws are made by the Parliament.

LEGISLATIVE POWER IS THE PARLIAMENT.

## The Parliament consists of three



The House of Commons

The House of lords



### The House of Commons:

- controls the government,
- makes laws,
- discusses political problems.

#### The House of

- has thepaser to delay bills for one year;
- opposes the decisions of the House of Commons;

#### The

It is the official head of the state and an integral part of the Parliament in her constitutional role;
has mostly representative functions;
gives the royal assent to the bills passed by the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

- Head of state is Queen Elizabeth II;
- The Queen rules the country in fact;
- The power of queen is limited;
- The Queen has mostly representative functions;



- Elizabeth II was crowned in Westminster Abbey in 1953;
- The monarchy is hereditary.



The throne prince Charles

