Status of Government

- The Government implements the executive power of the Republic of Kazakhstan;
- In its entire activity it is responsible before the President;
- It may be also accountable to the Parliament
 - The Parliament may appeal by a majority of votes to the President to discharge a member of the Government from office in the case of non-observance of the laws of the Republic.
 - If the President rejects, after the expiry of 6 months the Parliament may re-appeal to the President on the same issue.
 - In this case the President must discharge a member of the Government from office.

Formation of Government

There are the following stages:

- Consultations of the President with the fractions of the political parties represented in the Mazhilis,
- Introduction of a candidacy of the Prime Minister by the President to the Mazhilis;
- Appointment of the Prime Minister by the President with the consent of the Mazhilis;
 - President may also anytime release him from office;
- At the proposal of the Prime Minister, President determines the structure of the Government and appoints its members.
 - Suggestions about the structure and composition of the Government has to be submitted to the President by the Prime Minister within ten days after his appointment.
 - At his own discretion, the President appoints Ministers of Foreign Affairs, of Defense, of Internal Affairs, of Justice.

Functions of Government

Government of Republic of Kazakhstan

- Elaborates main directions of the state policy in the spheres of:
 - Socio-economic development;
 - Defense capability and security;
 - Public order;
- Develops measures for the conduct of the foreign policy of RK;
- Introduces a draft of the republican budget to the Parliament and ensures its implementation;
- Introduces drafts of laws into the Mazhilis;
- Ensures the enforcement of laws;
- Manages state property;
- Manages the activity of ministries and other central and local executive bodies;
- May terminate or suspend the effect of acts of ministries and other central and local executive bodies of the Republic;

Status of Members of Government

- A member of the Government who does not agree with the policy, pursued by the Government, or who does not pursue it must resign or be subjected to release from his office.
- Members of the Government do not have right:
 - to be deputies of a representative body,
 - hold other paid offices except teaching, scientific and other creative activities,
 - engage in entrepreneurial activity,
 - enter governing body or a supervisory board of a commercial organization.
- The members of the Government take an oath to the people and President.

Termination of Powers

- The President may any time terminate powers of the Government and release any of its members from their offices.
 - The release of the Prime Minister from office denotes the termination of the powers of the entire Government.
- The Government must submit its resignation to the President in the event that Parliament passes a vote of no confidence in the Government.
 - The President within a period of 10 days considers the issue of accepting or declining the resignation.
 - Acceptance of the resignation denotes the termination of the powers of the Government.

Structure of Government

- 1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
- 2. Ministry of Defense;
- 3. Ministry of Internal Affairs;
- 4. Ministry of Finance;
- 5. Ministry of Justice;
- 6. Ministry of Agriculture;
- 7. Ministry of Labor and Social Protection;
- 8. Ministry of Education and Science;
- 9. Ministry of Transport and Communication;
- 0. Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources;
- 1. Ministry of Health Care;
- 2. Ministry of Industry and Trade;
- 3. Ministry of Environment Protection;
- 4. Ministry of Economics and Budget 9. Planning;
- 5. Ministry for Emergency Situations
- 6. Ministry of Culture and Information;
- 7. Ministry of Tourism and Sport

- 1. Agency for Statistics
- 2. Agency on Informatization and Communication
- 3. Agency on Management of Land Resources
- 4. Agency on Regulation of Natural Monopolies
- 5. Agency on Affairs of State Service
- 6. National Space Agency
- Agency on Protection of Competition (Anti-Monopoly Agency)
- 8. Agency for the Regulation of the Activities of the Regional Financial Center Almaty
 - Agency for the Issues of Construction and Municipal and House-Building Economy
 - Chancellery of Prime Minister.