The Political System of the USA



The USA is a **presidential republic**.

Three Branches of Government



The legislative branch of the Government (the Congress)

It represents all of the American states. The job of the Congress is **to make laws**.



Congress consists of two parts: the House of Representatives and the Senate (the upper house).



The executive branch of the government

It **puts** the country's **laws into effect.** The President of the United States is a member of the executive branch.



The President

 The President is elected every four years and cannot serve more that two terms.



The judicial branch of the government

is the system of courts in the United States. Its job is to **enforce laws**.



The judicial branch works together with the legislative and executive branches to protect the Constitution and the rights of people.

