The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA/GA)



The six principal organs of the UN:

- The General Assembly
- The Security Council
- The Economic and Social Council
- The Secretariat
- The International Court of Justice
- The Trusteeship Council

The United Nations General Assembly subsidiary organs are divided into five main categories:

committees (30 total, six main)

commissions (7)

boards (6)

councils and panels (5)

working groups



The president of the UNGA is a position voted for by representatives in the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on a yearly basis. The President presides over the sessions of the General Assembly.

 Since 2012 the president of the UNGA has became Vuk Jeremic from Serbia. The Charter of the United Nations is the foundational treaty of the United Nations.

It was signed in San Francisco on 26 June 1945, by 50 of the 51 original member countries (Poland, the other original member, which was not represented at the conference, signed it two months later). It entered into force on 24 October 1945, after being ratified by the five permanent members of the Security Council



Questions in the GA which are put to a two-thirds vote:

- recommendations on peace and security
- election of members to organs
- admission, suspension, and expulsion of members
- budgetary matters

The Assembly may also take action in a case where there appears to be:

- a threat to the peace
- a breach of the peace
- an act of aggression



The **Group of 77** is a loose coalition of developing nations, designed to promote its members' collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity in the United Nations. There were 77 founding members of the organization, but the organization has since expanded to 132 member countries.