

Government and Administration

 Britain is a parliamentary democracy with a constitutional monarch – Queen Elizabeth II – as head of state.



The History of English Parliament

 1066- William of Normandy brought a feudal system.

1295- was adopted "Model Parliame

1300-1313 Edward II separated
Parliament into to Houses.



1603- Scottish King James VI provoked the Wars of Three Kingdoms.

 1660- Cromwell restored the monarchy and the House of Lords.



Parliament

Parliament was located at Westminster in

London.



 Parliament comprises the House of Commons the House of Lords and the Queen in her Constitutional role General elections must be held every five years by the secret ballot and is from the age

of 18.





There are 533 English constituencies.



Government

 The government is formed by party with majority support in the Commons.

The Queen appoints its leader as Prime

Minister.



- The Prime Minister appoints 20 ministers in the Cabinet.
- The second largest party forms the official Opposition with its own leader and "shadow cabinet"; The Opposition has a duty to criticise government policies.

The leader of Opposition Ed Miliband

National symbols

 British national flag is called "Union Jack". It symbolises the Union of England, Scotland and Ireland and dates back from 1801.



• British National Anthem is "God Save The Queen"

