



- Whitehall is a road in the City of Westminster, in central London, which forms the first part of the A3212 road from Trafalgar Square to Chelsea. It is the main thoroughfare running south from the site of the original Charing Cross at the southern end of Trafalgar Square towards Parliament Square.
- The name is taken from the vast Palace of Whitehall that occupied the area before its destruction by fire in 1698. Whitehall was originally a wide road that led to the front of the palace. Trafalgar Square was built at its northern extremity in the early 19th century. The southernmost portion between Parliament Square and Downing Street is named Parliament Street. Combined, Parliament Street and Whitehall cover a distance of about 0.6 mile (1 km).
- Whitehall is also widely known for a number of memorial statues and

- HISTORY.
- Whitehall, looking south in 1740: Inigo Jones' Banqueting House (1622) on the left, William Kent's Treasury buildings (1733–37) on the right, the Holbein Gate (1532, demolished 1759) at centre.
- Parliament Street was a small side road alongside the Palace of Whitehall which led to the Palace of Westminster. When the Palace of Whitehall was demolished, Parliament Street was widened to match Whitehall's width. The present appearance of the street is largely the result of 19th-century redevelopment.
- Banqueting House, built in 1622 by Inigo Jones, is the only surviving portion of the former palace. Charles I was executed on 30 January 1649 on a scaffold erected outside the building, stepping onto it from a first-floor window. The name "Whitehall" is often used as a metonym to refer to that part of the civil service which is involved in the government of the United Kingdom.
- Whitehall, looking north in 1953, with Earl Haig Memorial in the middle of the carriageway.
- The central portion of the street is dominated by military buildings, including the Ministry of Defence, with the former headquarters of the British Army and Royal Navy, the Royal United Services Institute, the Horse Guards building and the Admiralty, on the opposite side.
- Scotland Yard, the headquarters of London's Metropolitan Police Service, was originally located in Great Scotland Yard off the north-eastern end of Whitehall, but was relocated to New Scotland Yard on the Victoria Embankment in 1890. From 2015, the Metropolitan Police will be headquartered in a building between Whitehall and the Embankment.
- Downing Street leads off the south-west end of Whitehall, just above Parliament Street. It is closed to the public at both ends by security gates

MEMORIALS

- The Cenotaph, Britain's primary war memorial, is situated in the centre of Whitehall and is the site of the annual ceremonies on Remembrance Sunday.
- In 2005 a national Monument to the Women of World War II was erected a short distance north of the Cenotaph in the middle of the Whitehall carriageway.
- The road is also home to six other monuments:
- Prince George, Duke of Cambridge (1819–1904): Commander-in-Chief of the British Army, 1856–1895
- Spencer Cavendish, 8th Duke of Devonshire (1833–1908): Leader of the Liberal Party, 1875–1880; of the Liberal Unionist Party, 1886–1903; and of the Unionists (1902–1903)
- Douglas Haig, 1st Earl Haig (1861–1928): Commander-in-Chief of the British Armies in France, 1915 to 1918 (known as the Earl Haig Memorial)
- William Slim, 1st Viscount Slim (1891–1970): Commander of the 14th Army, 1943–1945; and Governor-General of Australia, 1953–1959
- Alan Brooke, 1st Viscount Alanbrooke (1883–1963): Chief of the Imperial General Staff, 1941–1946
- Bernard Montgomery, 1st Viscount Montgomery of Alamein (1887–1976):



Duke of Devonshire



Alamein

Viscount Alanbrooke

GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS

- Map of Whitehall and surrounding streets
- **Government buildings on Whitehall, from north to south, include:**
- **The Admiralty Buildings (Foreign and Commonwealth Office, others)**
- 22 Whitehall (Department for International Development)
- **55** Whitehall (Department of Energy and Climate Change)
- Old War Office
- **36** Whitehall (Office of the Parliamentary Counsel)
- Horse Guards
- Ministry of Defence main building
- Dover House (Scotland Office)
- Gwydyr House (Wales Office)
- **70** Whitehall (the Cabinet Office)
- Downing Street (Cabinet, Prime Minister at number 10)
- Richmond House (Department of Health)
- Foreign and Commonwealth Office
- Government Offices Great George Street (HM Treasury, HM Randal and parts of the Cabinet Office)



GALLERY



Busy street traffic on Whitehall, pictured from Trafalgar Square





THE WOMEN





Government Offices Great George Street, Parliament Street

Old War Office